The Sydney Lea NC Archive


sl, bird dog pete and sharptail, Montana

Sydney Lea is the former Poet Laureate of Vermont (2011-2015). He founded New England Review in 1977 and edited it till 1989. His poetry collection Pursuit of a Wound (University of Illinois Press, 2000) was one of three finalists for the Pulitzer Prize for poetry. Another collection, To the Bone: New and Selected Poems, was co-winner of the 1998 Poets’ Prize. In 1989, Lea also published the novel A Place in Mind with Scribner. Lea has received fellowships from the Rockefeller, Fulbright and Guggenheim Foundations, and has taught at Dartmouth, Yale, Wesleyan, Vermont College of Fine Arts and Middlebury College, as well as at Franklin College in Switzerland and the National Hungarian University in Budapest. His stories, poems, essays and criticism have appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, The New Republic, The New York Times, Sports Illustrated and many other periodicals, as well as in more than forty anthologies. His selection of literary essays, A Hundred Himalayas, was published by the University of Michigan Press in 2012, and Skyhorse Publications  released A North Country Life: Tales of Woodsmen, Waters and Wildlife in 2013. In 2015 he published a non-fiction collection, What’s the Story? Reflections on a Life Grown Long (many of the essays appeared first on Numéro Cinq). His twelfth poetry collection, No Doubt the Nameless, was published this spring by Four Way Books.



Sixty Steps from Yale

River, Stars, and Blessed Failure: Brief Essays

The Serpent on Barnet Knoll: Three Essays

Sex & Death

Mrs. Ragnetti and the Spider

Pony and Graveyard: A Dream of the Flesh

A Short Sad Story

Becoming a Poet: A Way to Know


Weathers and Places


Incline My Stubborn Heart: Poems


Tonight’s the Night: Cartoons & Poetry — James Kochalka & Sydney Lea

No Consequence: A Poem For Goran Simić

A Lucky Man: Poems

Gooka-mol: Poems

Enduring Chaos | A Poem for our Times

The Great War 


Contraband Dreams: Review of Poetry Collections by Catherine Greenwood, Russell Thornton & David Seymour

Onward From Insufficiency: Review of Don McKay’s Angular Unconformity: Collected Poems 1970-2014

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.